Code Switching

Have you ever been in a situation where you found yourself code switching? The term usually refers to languages and how individuals switch between different languages based on who they are talking to. However, this idea of code switching also reveals itself in a number of settings. For example, I interact with my family in a different way than I interact with my professors, that is an obvious one. I also interact with my science friends differently than I do with my social science friends. Furthermore, the consideration of something like the hip hop culture in comparison to rock and roll have different looks, personalities, and vernaculars. The same can be said of ethnicities. I often find myself code switching depending on who I am interacting with, BUT I still keep in mind my values and morals. I think about the universal unifier of LOVE and it’s profundity and power.

Positively Influence,

Key

Leave a Reply

