My Future with Primary Care

NOTE: This post was influenced by Brian Klepper, Chief Development Officer of WeCare TLC. He blogs at Care and Cost. Please see his article: “How can primary care be a policy leader?”

Primary Care and Preventative Care As a recent graduate of the USC School of Social Work and a future medical school applicant, my desire to be a primary care physician (PCP) and a policy leader are goals I hold dear to my heart. I believe that in order for the quality of healthcare to improve in our country, preventative care must be emphasized. For this reason, primary care physicians are extremely important in helping educate and care for patients regarding their present and future health outcomes. Studies demonstrate that the number of primary care physicians have declined in recent years. However, with an increase in geriatric patients, in combination with the increase of insured patients due to the Affordable Care Act, the need for physicians, especially primary care physicians, should be emphasized

Stigma Associated With Primary Care On the whole, I have received support for my desire to work on the front lines of medicine; however, a certain stigma exists in relation to primary care. Sometimes when I tell people I want to be a primary care physician, they tell me I should be a surgeon. I support surgeons and other specialties. Individuals tell me I should be a surgeon because it is cooler or because it makes more money. Although my current goal is to work with families and children in underserved communities, I am open my interest in cardiology and oncology. However, at this point in my life/career, I can honestly say my desire to develop long-term patient-physician rapport through family medicine, pediatrics, obstetrics/gynecology, or internal medicine is important to me.

Light at the End Of the Tunnel In the end, I know many of my peers desire to pursue medicine and other health care professions for all the right reasons. They do not care about money as much as the well-being of the patient, and they believe that health care is a human right. We are passionate about our dreams and goals and are constantly thinking of ways to improve the provision of health care in our communities, our state, and our country at large. We seek the next program or organization that benefits more patients, while evaluating those that are no longer optimal. It is this desire and passion that will propel the future of health care in this country and combat diabetes, heart disease, HIV/AIDS, mental health, and cancer-among others. We will continue to fight. I will continue to fight to be an agent of change and a policy leader in health care.

Positively Influence, Key

Leave a Reply

