Medical School Fear, Resolve

“Sometimes you have to stop worrying, wondering, and doubting and just have faith that things will work out” -@MorganFreeman_:  (parody account)

I felt like I needed to talk more about this before I begin my MCAT studies for the day. The road to medical school is one long and arduous journey, but when that freshly minted acceptance letter is delivered to the mail or inbox, the nerves, stress, anxiety, and fears subside. I am a long way from that acceptance letter, but I know that one day it will come. This year I am applying to medical school, and it is a trying, yet exciting process. I envision myself sitting in a medical school classroom or hospital learning additional tools necessary to heal. The worst thing about wanting something so badly is not having it, but thrill of the chase is enough to keep striving for it because you know in your heart where your are supposed to be, what you are destined to do. From a young age, I can’t say that I knew I was supposed to be a doctor. God helped me find out my vocation through a series of life experiences, but one thing I was absolutely sure of was that I was placed on this earth to make the lives of others easier. With that said, I worry about my future, but at the end of the day, I know everything will be alright. Wherever we end up in this life is where we are supposed to be. The decisions we make, and the events that make decisions for us are the  determinants that lead us to our present situations. I am not a “boot-strapper”. I do not believe someone can always rise up from the dirt and achieve success (which is relative). Nor do I believe that we are doomed to fall into a cycle of misfortune. However, examples from both sides have shown us that rags to riches stories are real, just like cycles of poverty. With that said, I also believe elements of faith and luck are the link between the success and failure. I have faith. A little luck will go a long way…

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

