Hindsight is 20/20

Today (or yesterday) was one of my favorite days of the week, “Workout Wednesday!” I get so excited because it feels like we are doing something good. For the past 4 weeks, a few of my friends and me have been getting together once a week to move our bodies. Amongst our busy schedules as medical students, it’s difficult to stay sane, but one of the ways we like to do that, is to exercise. We are currently in our Brain and Behavior block, so endorphins, which are thought to inhibit the transmission of pain and induce euphoria, are desperately needed. Workout Wednesday is one of the ways we stock up on those endorphins!

Anyway, we’ve had midterms for the last two days, Monday was Pharmacology, Psychiatry and Doctoring, and a Neuroanatomy practical.  Tuesday was written Neuroanatomy, Neurology, and Neuropathology. The first day of midterms was not too bad, but I literally had to pull off a miracle on Monday night to prepare for Tuesday. The week before midterms I spent an inordinate amount of time applying for a scholarship. It took some time away from studying, so I didn’t get a chance to study as much as wanted to in the days leading up to our midterms. However, the meaning and purpose behind this scholarship was so important to me, that I just had to apply. Long story short, lets just say some parts of midterms went well, while others, not so much. But hey, what can I do about that now?

Well, as I was designing today’s workout, I reminded myself that understanding the past is easy, what you change to maximize your potential going forward is the key. One of the positives of struggling through adversity is that you learn from it. Hindsight is 20/20, and you change the way you approach obstacles so you don’t go insane if you get the same results. Thus, today’s workout was  “HINDSIGHT.” (See Details Below). Unfortunately, it was about 102 degrees when the workout was scheduled, so only two people were there-myself included.

Oh by the way, that scholarship I was talking about, I got it :)! I guess Hindsight is 20/20.

IMG_1740

    “HINDSIGHT”

(3 Rounds)

  • Double Leg Hops for height (20 Yards)
  • 20 Crunches
  • Alternating Skips for Height (20 Yards)
  • 20 Body Squats
  • Broad Jumps for Distance (20 yards)
  • 20 second Planks or 20 push-ups (modified because my wrist is injured)
  • STAIRS

Positively Influence,

Key

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

