The Executions Will Be Televised

The Executions Will Be Televised

We’ve been forced to record our experiences of being mistreated.

Our executions are being televised as if we are fish out of water.

Our Gills gasp for air, Garnering ephemeral yet sequential hashtags.

While Scott remains free only to be seen as,

the Hero in America.

We are white-hot, but not white.

Results being, we are not right.

Our lamentations are like hot air on cold blue hearts,

While our hearts disappear with each beat run.

Being black in American is like a re-run.

Afraid to die is why we run.

Trigger fingers are faster behind these guns.

We aspire, but our past h(a)unts us.

The mentality of brave slaves with allostatic loads so heavy,

Yet you drop doubt into us like Katrina’s levees.

A flood of tears, became a trail of fears,

to a promise land of milk and honey, or death

poisoned grapes of wrath, flowing from cathartic steins into a beck

You are not being mistreated,

It’s all in your head.

But don’t be too free,

Or you’ll end up dead

We voice our fears of being killed.

“Just comply,” you say.

I’ve been compliant for centuries

You’re getting it twisted like Freddie Gray

My only choice is my voice, but you take it away.

If I get too free, I’m told to behave.

If I get too free, Now I’m DeRay.

If I get too free, I’m MLK.

If I get too free, I’m Oscar Grant.

If I get too free, I’m Sandra Bland.

If I get too free, I am you

If I am like you,

That means we’re equals.

But in reality, this is slavery as a sequel.

If our black perspectives are unjustified is all you gather

This inability to empathize with us, is why BLACK LIVES MATTER!

 

Positively Influence,

KRM

 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted in Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “The Executions Will Be Televised

Leave a Reply

